News

Eight competing Nordic Films

The eight films competing for The Nordic Film Award nominated!

The Nordic Film Award, SEK 100 000 and the artist Ernst Billgren's film dragon, was inaugurated in 1989. Last year's winner was the Swedish film Let the Right One In by Tomas Alfredson.

All eight competing films will be screened at the main festival cinema Draken (Dragon), starting Friday January 23 with Nahid Persson Sarvestani's The Queen and I.

The Nordic jury members are: Vinca Wiedemann, producer and script consultant Denmark, Marian Saastad Ottesen, actress, Norway, Mikael Marcimain, director, Sweden and Auli Mantila, producer and director, Finland. One more member will be added.

The competing eight films are:

The Queen and I (Drottningen och jag) - Nahid Persson Sarvestani (Sweden)
The Swedish Iranian documentary film maker meets her former opponent - Farah Diba, the wife of the shah of Iran.
Press: Katrina Mathsson, Folkets Bio, +46 8 545 275 22, katrina@folketsbio.se

Country Wedding (Sveitabrúokaup) - Valdis Oskarsdottir (Iceland)
A drama about a wedding on the Icelandic countryside. Directed by the acclaimed editor of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.
Press: Gudrun Edda Thorhannesdóttir, Sveitabrúokaup ehf., +354 551 33 28, duo@simnet.is

The Blessing (Velsignelsen) - Heidi Maria Faisst (Denmark)
A story with personal visual language about a woman who tries to adjust to her new role as a mother.
Press: Christian Juhl Lemche, Danska filminstitutet, +45 33 74 34 64 / +45 21 48 85 22, christianjl@dfi.dk

Guidance - Johan Jonason (Sweden)
A hopeful and humoristic and weird story about a man who tries an alternative therapy method to get rid of his back problems.
Press: Rebecka Lafrenz, Garagefilm International, +46 8 545 133 68, rebecka@garagefilm.se

House of Fools (De gales hus) - Eva Isaksen (Norway)
An urgent and funny film about a newborn lust for life at a psychiatric ward. Based on the novel by the Norwegian author Karin Fossum.
Press: Hilde Berg, Norsk Filmproduksjon, +47 67 52 54 20 / +47 91 61 49 13, hilde@norskfilmproduksjon.no

Forbidden Fruit (Kielletty hedelmä) - Dome Karukoski (Finland)
A drama about friendship and revolt where 18 year old Mary runs off to the big city and Rachel goes after to make her come back.
Press: Aleksi Bardy, Helsinki Filmi, +358 9 77 40 300 / +358 400 467 497, aleksi.bardy@helsinkifilmi.fi

In Your Veins (I skuggan av värmen) - Beata Gårdeler (Sweden/Norway)
A serious and sexually intense film about the relationship between a drug addicted security guard and a naive policeman, based on the novel by Lotta Thell.
Press: Ylva Swedenborg, Cinema Sweden, +46 70 898 38 48, ylva@cinemasweden.com

The Visitor (Muukalainen) - Jukka-Pekka Valkeapää (Finland)
Strong and quiet, Tarkovsky inspired story about a mother and a son on an isolated farm.
Press: Phil Symes, The PR Contact, + 39 346 336 3406, festival@theprcontact.com

We also present another eleven Swedish world premieres - six documentaries and five fiction films.

The six documentaries are:

Bananas - Fredrik Gertten
Press: Fredrik Gertten, WG Film, + 46 40-23 20 98, fredrik@wgfilm.com

Ebbe - the Movie - Jane Magnusson and Karin af Klintberg
Press: Britta Lübeck, Acne Film, + 46 73-699 99 32, britta@acne.se

The Film I'm No Longer Talking About (Filmen jag inte pratar om längre) - Jesper Ganslandt and Martin Degrell
Press: Martin Strömberg, Strömberg PR, +46 70-771 64 47, martin@strombergpr.se

Greetings from the Woods (Hälsningar från skogen) - Mikel Cee Karlsson
Press: Erik Hemmedorff, Plattform Produktion, +46 70-171 19 23, erik@plattformproduktion.se

Mari Carmen España: At the End of Silence (Mari Carmen España: Vid tystnadens slut) ? Martin Jönsson and Carl Pontus Hjorthén
Press: Martin Jönsson, +46 70-867 14 07, martin@periodista.se

Money and the Panic - A Film About Greed (Pengarna och paniken - En film om girigheten) - Maj Wechselmann
Press: Maj Wechselmann, Produktionsgruppen Wechselmann, + 46 8-662 26 75, maj.prod@telia.com

The five fiction films are:

Glowing Stars (I taket lyser stjärnorna) - Lisa Siwe
Press: Pia Norström, Sandrew Metronome + 46 8-762 17 58, pia.norstrom@sandrewmetronome.com

Almost Elvis (Karaokekungen) - Petra Revenue
Press: Annmari Bergmark, Nordisk Film, + 46 8-601 32 00, annmari.bergmark@nordiskfilm.com

Vägen hem - Karin Swärd
Press: Oskar Malmquist, TV4, + 46 70-837 56 85, oskar.malmquist@tv4.se

The Babajou Family (Familjen Babajou) - Baker Karim
Press: Gunnlaugur Jonassen, SVT, +46 70-816 11 63, gunnlaugur.jonasson@svt.se

The Storm (Stormen) - Calle Östlund
Press: Annika Jardin, SVT, + 46 (0)31-83 71 57, annika.jardin@svt.se

For pics see the Image Archives»

Press Manager Göteborg International Film Festival: Camilla Larsson
Tel: + 46 (0)31 339 30 14
camilla.larsson@filmfestival.org

Press Assistant: Karin Andersson
Tel: + 46 (0)31 339 30 27
karin.andersson@filmfestival.org