Award ceremony at Göteborg International Film Festival's closing party

The 32nd Göteborg International Film Festival closes tonight with an award ceremony at Börsen and a big party at Magasinsgatan. The following prizes are awarded:
The Nordic Film Award, The Church of Sweden Film Award, The FIPRESCI Award, The Ingmar Bergman International Debut Award, the Producer Award Lorens, and the Viewer's Choice Award.

The Nordic Film Award

The Göteborg International Film Festival's Nordic Film Award goes to the director Jukka-Pekka Valkeapää (Finland) for his film The Visitor.
The prize consists of 100.000 SEK from Västra Götalandsregionen and the Filmdraken, a mosaic dragon statuette, created by the Swedish artist Ernst Billgren.

The Kodak Nordic Vision Award

The Kodak Nordic Vision Award goes to the photographer Tuomo Hutri (Finland) for his excellent camera work in The Visitor. The prize consists of film at a value of 50.000 SEK

The Nordic jury consisted of Vinca Wiedemann (producer and script consultant, Denmark), Mikael Maricmain (director, Sweden), Auli Mantila, (producer and director, Finland), Marian Sastad Ottesen (actress, Norway).

The Church of Sweden Film Award

The Danish film The Blessing by Heidi Maria Faisst (Denmark) is awarded the Church of Sweden Film Award. The prize consists of 50.000 SEK.

This year's jury consisted of Mikael Ringlander (Chair Man), Björn Runge (director), Anne-Louise Eriksson (The church of Sweden), Arnfridur Gudmundsdottir (theology professor).


The FIPRESCI award is given by the International federation of film critics to one the competing Nordic feature films. The award goes to The Blessing av Heidi Maria Faisst (Denmark). The FIPRESCI jury awards its prize "to Velsignelsen (The Blessing), a rigorous study of postpartum depression with a provocative emphasis on behavior rather then psychology."

The FIPRESCI-jury consisted of Nathan Lee (USA), Antti Selkokari (Finland), Ingeborg Bratoeva (Bulgaria).

The Ingmar Bergman International Debut Award

This year's Ingmar Bergman International Debut Award goes to Parque vía, directed by Enrique Rivero (Mexico).

The prize consists of a one week stay during the Bergman Week in the summer of 2009, a DVD box with 30 Bergman films from the Ingmar Bergman Foundation and a beautiful stone from Bergman's own Fårö beach, with the director's name engraved.

The TIBIDA-jury consisted of Bille August (director, Denmark), Astrid Söderbergh Widding (film professor and chairman of the Ingmar Bergman foundation, Sweden), and Marco Tullio Giordana (director, Italy).

The Producer Award Lorens

The winner of Stockholm Post Production's new producer award is Erik Hemmendorff for Involuntary and An Extraordinary Study in Human Degredation. The award consists of free development of the winning producer's next feature film and is estimated to about 500.000 SEK. The winner was picked from 2008 year's Swedish feature films.

The jury consisted of Tony Forsberg (photographer), Petra Ahlin (editor), Reza Parsa (director), Jesper Bergom-Larsson (producer), Ali Boriri (film lab manager and filmer).

Viewer's Choice Award

The viewers have made their choice; Best feature film: Mommy is at the Hairdresser's by Léa Pool (Canada).

The closing press conference takes place on Sunday, February 1 at 10.30 am at Hotel Riverton.

Press manager: Camilla Larsson
Tel: +46 708-42 39 80

Press Assistant: Karin Andersson
Tel: +46 735-79 86 21